About Us » Land Acknowledgement

Land Acknowledgement

As we gather on these lands, our Catholic Social Teachings call us in solidarity with Indigenous people to honour and respect the four directions, as well as the lands, waters, plants, animals and ancestors that walked before us. As settlers, we recognize the rich historical and modern traditions of the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit people who have contributed to the success and prosperity of Canada.

In particular, we acknowledge that we are on the traditional territories of the Anishinabek Nation: the People of the Three Fires known as the Ojibwe, Odawa and Pottawatomie Nations. We give thanks to the Saugeen First Nation, and the Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation, known collectively as the Saugeen Ojibway Nation, as the traditional keepers of this land.
Together we strive towards truth, reconciliation, and the ongoing healing of our relationship through consultation, education and learning.